Heavy Rotation: Latitude 88 North by ELO

Standard

Latitude 88 North by ELO – this weekend’s Heavy Rotation track – came about as a result of me joining the iPod generation (a CD and vinyl man, I’ve finally caved… but can an mp3 or AIFF file rotate though, really?), syncing my iTunes and simply hitting shuffle. A bullseye, straight off the bat… for those that enjoy a mixed metaphor.

And it’s a great start to the weekend, I’m sure you’ll agree. Like a good friend of mine commented when I played it to them for the first time, every time I hear it I think “That is a chorus”.

In fact, all budding songsmiths with a penchant for penning melodic pieces should listen to Latitude 88 North – that chorus is a masterclass of melody and harmonies. The swirling strings and phased drums add widescreen cinematic grandeur. Basically, listen and learn kids.

Leave a Reply

